Our History

Situated in the Morningside area of Edinburgh, new members can expect a warm welcome and an enjoyable experience at the Merchants of Edinburgh Golf Club.

Opened in 1907, with unparalled views from the Forth Bridges to Edinburgh Castle and North Berwick Law, the course was originally designed by Ben Sayers and remodelled in 1936 by the renowned James Braid, being one of only a few courses with a square green. Although not long by modern day standards, it is, nevertheless, a true test of golfing ability requiring great precision with greens that are the envy of many other clubs. The original course lay out required rather ingenious use of 68 acres to accommodate 18 holes.
The Clubhouse was rebuilt in 2001 and retains much of its original character. It provides first class facilities and a warm welcome to members and visitors alike and stunning views towards The Pentland Hills.